Stags starters’ success

Image: by contributed. S1s Glasgow Warriors
Image: by contributed. S1s Glasgow Warriors

Grangemouth Stags’ youth team scooped the final silverware of 2013 by winning the Glasgow Warriors Sevens tournament.

On a night when the Glasgow v Treviso game was called off late on because of the worsening weather the S1/S2s carried on and saw off Bishopton, Hillfoots and Helensburgh at Scotstoun.

The Stags were solid in defence against Bishopton, not giving their opponents many chances while creating several themselves through good handling and support play. Grangemouth won convincingly 20-0. Try scorers were Adam McGregor, Matthew Smith and Andrew Myles

The next game saw Grangemouth face Helensburgh and followed a similar pattern with Grangemouth shutting their opponents down whilst continuing to distribute the ball well. Final score was 15-5. Try scorers were Adam McGregor (2) and Samuel Quinn.

The final group game against Hillfoots was the toughest test of the group games and was edged by the local side 10-5 with tries from Adam McGregor and James Fisher.

In the final Grangemouth faced Waysiders. From the kick off tiredness was setting in, proven by more handling errors than in the previous games.

However Grangemouth’s defence was under more pressure than in the group games and Waysiders soon broke through for a score in the corner. However the response with a couple of good short passes secured an equaliser.

However Waysiders took advantage of a rare missed tackle to run in a score and take a 10-5 lead.

The referee then signalled the next series would be the last play of the game. From the restart two quick passes and a couple of hand offs by Andrew Myles were delivered to Adam McGregor who took his chance to round two defenders and level the score at 10-10.

The “golden try” was applied and both teams had opportunities to win. However it was from a mistake in midfield that Grangemouth regained possession and from a superb passage of play Matthew Smith crossed the line to add to Adam McGregor’s pair for a 15-10 win.

Team: Adam McGregor, Andrew Myles, Cameron Anderson, Finlay Hunter, James Fisher, Matthew Northway, Matthew Smith, Ryan Russell and Samuel Quinn.