Awards deadline looms

Time is running out for clubs and individuals to nominate their sports personality of the year.

Can anyone challenge last years’ winners; star football player Leanne Ross who won the senior award, highland dancer Anthea Bundy the junior winner and Falkirk Victoria Harriers as the Club of the year?

Awards will also be made for disability sport, coach and young coach of the year, veteran, local and national and local service and team of the year.

Falkirk Council will also award scrolls to those nominees’ that meet the criteria of the award system.

Due to various problems last year, nominations will only be accepted if the nomination form is countersigned by the club secretary of the nominee and all contact information has been completed.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Falkirk Council website at

Forms are also available at most Falkirk Council venues.

Closing date for nominations is December 31, 2011.

There are some important changes to the awards so please note these changes.

Awards will no longer be made, at this event, for under 14s/cadets, primary school team and secondary school team.

These awards will be held at the annual Active Schools awards ceremony later in the year.

WINNER: Leanne Ross

gary Hutchison (112662e)