Here's when we'll find out who's representing the UK at Eurovision 2020 - and how they're picked

This year's Eurovision may be a number of months away, but excitement for all things Europop is gathering.

That's because the UK is about to announce its representative for the show that takes place in May.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The chosen artist and song will be unveiled on the morning of Thursday 27 February on Greg James’s BBC Radio 1 Breakfast show and Ken Bruce’s Radio 2 morning slot.

Here's all you need to know about it.

How will this year's UK representative be decided?

Unlike previous years, in which the UK's entrant in the contest has been decided through a public vote, in 2020, they've simply been picked by industry insiders.

The BBC announced in September that it would be teaming up with the music company BMG to find an act for Eurovision 2020, the 65th year of the competition.

It said at the time that BMG shared its "vision of selecting a song with broad international appeal and securing an artist who embodies the spirit and values" of the contest.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

BMG has good experience with Eurovision: they were behind the 2015 winning entry for Sweden, and signed Israeli singer Netta after her win in 2018.

Britain's record in the competition in recent years has led organisers to change the system. The public essentially cannot be trusted.

It means there will be no more episodes of Eurovision: You Decide to determine the act, which has run since 2016.

This year's entrant will be unveiled on Thursday morning on Greg James's BBC Radio 1 Breakfast Show and Ken Bruce's Radio 2 morning slot.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

How are other countries' entrants decided?

Other countries have to take part in a semi-final to reach Eurovision's final stages; the UK's act gets a ticket straight to the final because of the funding it provides for the contest.

Which artists are confirmed for the semi-finals?

Semi-final One (12 May)

Seventeen countries will participate in the first semi-final, with the results voted on by the participating countries plus Germany, Italy and the Netherlands.

Australia: Montaigne - 'Don't Break Me'Belarus: TBDIreland: TBDLithuania: The Roop - 'On Fire'North Macedonia: Vasil - 'You'Russia: TBDSlovenia: Ana Soklič - ''Voda' Slovene'Sweden: TBDAzerbaijan: TBDBelgium: Hooverphonic - 'Release Me'Croatia: TBDCyprus: Sandro - 'Running'Isreal: Eden AleneMalta: Destiny ChukunyereNorway: Ulrikke - 'Attention'Romania: RoxenUkraine: Go_A - 'Solovey'

Semi-Final Two (14 May)

Eighteen countries will participate in the second semi-final, with the results voted on by the participating countries plus France, Spain and the UK.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Austria: Vincent Bueno - 'Alive'Czech Republic: Benny Cristo - 'Kemama'Estonia: TBDGreece: Stefania - 'Superg!rl'Iceland: TBDMoldova: TBDPoland: Alicja Szemplińska - 'Empires'San Marino: TBDSerbia: TBDAlbania: Arilena Ara - 'Shaj'Armenia: Athena Manoukian - 'Chains on You'Bulgaria: VictoriaDenmark: TBDFinland: TBDGeorgia: Tornike Kipiani - 'Take Me as I Am'Latvia: Samanta Tīna - 'Still Breathing'Portugal: TBDSwitzerland: TBD

When is Eurovision?

Rotterdam's Ahoy arena will host the semi-finals on 12 and 14 May.

The final of this year's competition - held in the same arena - will take place on Saturday 19 May and will be broadcast live on BBC One.