Pupils make a production out of school’s opening

Falkirk’s newest primary school was officially opened last week by Cardinal Keith O’Brien.

St Bernadette’s RC Primary opened its doors in August to over 100 pupils and is an impressive modern building in the Antonshill area of Stenhousemuir.

Cardinal Keith O'Brien officially opens the new school

Cardinal Keith O'Brien officially opens the new school

While the school building is spectacular, principal teacher Marianne Savage said the real selling point of the school is the pupils, teachers and staff.

She said: “The opening ceremony was wonderful and we were very lucky to have Cardinal Keith O’Brien come to officially open St Bernadette’s.

“The school has gone from strength to strength since August and the pupils are a real credit to the teachers and their parents.

“Our pupil numbers are growing and there have been several community events to make sure St Bernadette’s is an asset to the local area.”

The £8 million school was officially opened last Thursday by Cardinal O’Brien in a ceremony which involved every pupil.

A drama production, ‘Our Beginning’, was performed for the cardinal and invited guests.

The production chronicled the story of the school, from the choosing of the Antonshill site right up to the day the school welcomed pupils. Every class in the school took part in the production.

Speaking at the event, Cardinal O’Brien said: “This school is a wonderful investment for the future, ensuring pupils of this area will indeed have the highest standards academically, as well as being formed in their faith and Christian principals in general and ensuring they will be good citizens, ready to serve our community and other communities in Scotland in every way possible.”

The opening ceremony also included speeches from Falkirk Council director of education Andrew Sutherland, education convener Councillor Alan Nimmo, and head teacher Cathy Quinn.

The ceremony concluded with a tour of the building, which was recognised regionally in the Royal Incorporation of Architects’ Building of the Year 2012 competition for its environmentally friendly design.