Scottish elections: These are the parties on the regional list for Central Scotland

Residents from across the district will have two votes to cast at Thursday’s Scottish Parliament election – one for the constituency and the other for the regional list.

Tuesday, 4th May 2021, 7:00 am
Updated Tuesday, 4th May 2021, 7:23 am
Polling places will open their doors following Covid regulations on Thursday.

With the constituency vote, the public are voting for individual politicians to represent their local area.

This is the lilac coloured ballot paper, which is run on a first past the post system – the candidate with the most votes is elected.

However, the second vote on a peach ballot paper is for the regional list vote.

This is used to elect 56 additional members in the form of regional MSPs.

There are eight regions that each have seven MSPs.

Both of Falkirk’s constituencies come under the Central Scotland region.

In the second vote the voter votes for a party rather than an individual candidate.

Each party has a ranked list of candidates for each region and those elected depends on the number of seats gained.

The following parties are standing on the list for Central Scotland:

Abolish the Scottish Parliament Party: John Provan Mortimer, Lee William McLauchlan.

Alba: Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh, Lynne Anderson, Jim Walker, Margaret Lynch

All for Unity: Mary Devlin, Jonathan Stanley, Matt Alexander, Sandra Hill, Billy Ross, Sandy Smart, Lachlan MacNeil

Freedom Alliance: Dave Frankland, Claire Anne McClaren, John Redmond Irvine, Louse Bannigan, Di Meechan and Colin McMillan.

Independent Green Voice: John M.B. Robertson

Reform UK: Alan Gordon Melville, Hugh MacDonald Skinner, Alexander Hugh MacGregor, Ann Therese Murray

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party: Stephen Kerr, Graham Simpson, Meghan Gallacher, Haroun Malik, Neil Benny, Ross Lambie, Nathan Wilson, Gordon MacDonald, Bryan Flannagan

Scottish Family Party: Leo Francis Lanahan, John Patrick McGrory, Helen Mary Claire Maceachen, Christine MacIver, Christopher Anthony Hendry

Scottish Green: Gillian MacKay, Rosemary McGowan, Claire Williams, Thomas McLaughlin, Patrick McAleer, Kyle Davidson, James Stuart Duffin

Scottish Labour Party: Richard Leonard, Monica Lennon, Mark Griffin, Monique McAdams, Chris Costello, Michael McPake, Allyson Black, Martine Nolan

Scottish Liberal Democrats: Paul McGarry, Mark McGeever, Dawn Marion Ferguson Allan, Graham Watson, Ewan McRobert, Karen Jane Utting, Austin Reid

Scottish Libertarian Party: Mark Meechan, Katrina Jane Angus

Scottish National Party (SNP): Danish Ashraf, Christina McKelvie, Neil Gray, Michelle Thomson, Fulton MacGregor, Stephanie Callaghan, Grant Ferguson, Iain Sinclair, Paul Welsh, Josh Wilson, Cameron McManus

UKIP: Neil Wilson, Yvonne Mackay, Steven Unwin, George Cowen

Independent: Paddy S Hogg