Local Elections: Latest results

The latest results for Falkirk Council local elections are in and the Provost of Falkirk has safely retained his seat.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 5th May 2017, 11:15 am
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 8:19 pm

Provost Pat Reid (Labour) retained his seat in Falkirk South, as did John Patrick (CON), while Lorna Binnie (SNP) became a councillor with over 2000 votes.

Ward 7 Falkirk South

Lorna Binnie (SNP) 2216

Sign up to our daily The Falkirk Herald Today newsletter

John Patrick (CON) 1993

Pat Reid (LAB) 1686

Donnie Buchanan (GRN) 315

Billy Buchanan (Independent) retained his place at Falkirk Council, as did Tom Coleman (SNP) and David Grant (CON) also earned a seat.

Sitting councillor Linda Gow lost her seat.

Ward 5 Bonnybridge and Larbert

Billy Buchanan (IND) 1134

Tom Coleman (SNP) 1898

David Grant (CON) 1368

Linda Gow (LAB) 884

David George Robertson (GRN) 216

Janine Danielle Rennie (IND) 128

In Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst Joan Coombes (Labour) returned to the council, while Gary Bouse (SNP), Jim Flynn (CON) and Laura Murtagh all became councillors.

Ward 4 Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst

Jim Flynn (CON) 1968

Gary Bouse (SNP) 1921

Joan Margaret Coombes (LAB) 956

Laura Murtagh (SNP) 940

Martin Murray (LAB) 850

Chris Marsh (GRN) 291

Safia Ali (IND) 141

Paul Garner (SNP) and Jim Blackwood (Labour) retained their seats, while Nigel Harris (Conservative), the husband of MSP Alison Harris, and Fiona Collie (SNP) also earned the right to sit on Falkirk Council.

Sitting Councillor Brian McCabe was voted out.

Ward 3 Denny and Banknock:

Paul Garner (SNP) 1664

Jim Blackwood (LAB) 965

Nigel Harris (CON) 916

Fiona Collie (SNP) 884

Brian McCabe (IND) 687

Alexander Waddell (IND) 522

Khalid Hamid (LAB) 314

Anne Montgomery (IND) 231

Cheryl Brind (Green) 119

Sean Mellon (SOL) 19

In ward 2 Grangemouth David Balfour (SNP), Allyson Black (Labour) and Robert Spears all retained their places in Falkirk Council.

Ward 2 Grangemouth:

David Balfour (SNP) 1510

Allyson Black (LAB) 1301

James Bundy (CON) 1030

Robert Spears (IND) 980

Margaret-Anne Milne (SNP) 676

Judith McLaughlin (GRN) 107

Earlier today SNP candidate Ann Ritche captured the most votes in Ward 1 to retain her seat, with David Aitchison (Labour) and Lynn Munro (Conservative) also gaining enough votes to be elected to the council.

Ward 1 Bo’ness and Blackness:

Ann Ritchie (SNP) 1510

Lynn Munro (Con) 1412

David Aitchison (Lab) 1106

Alan Gilbert (SNP) 761

Mari-Ellena Corvi (Green) 312

Michael Burnett (Lab) 298