Carrongrange celebration

Celebrating success was the aim of the annual leavers assembly at Carrongrange School.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 11th July 2016, 12:00 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 7:41 pm
Special award winners at the Carrongrange School success leavers assembly
Picture: Michael Gillen
Special award winners at the Carrongrange School success leavers assembly Picture: Michael Gillen

Held shortly before the end of term, it marked the achievements of all pupils who are now leaving the Stenhousemuir facility and moving on to pastures new.

Head teacher Gillian Robertson handed over the awards at the special event which was held before staff, pupils, family and friends.

The ceremony also marks one of the last to take place in the current building with a new, purpose-built facility currently under construction in Grangemouth.

Sign up to our daily The Falkirk Herald Today newsletter

Being built in the grounds of Moray Primary School at a cost of £17 million, it is due to open in August 2017.

The full list of prizewinners was:

Class 6A: Kayleigh Allan – Learning Works; Asim Ali –RME; Scott Hewitt – John Muir, Lifelong Learning; Tom Hutchens – Learning Works; Kieran Kane – Learning Works; Lewis Kellet – Gary Logan Award, Saltire; Ross Vickers – Numeracy, Learning Words, PDA; Leon Zanderbergen – Learning Works, Literacy, PE.

Class 6N: Darren Anderson – Health & Wellbeing, Literacy, Numeracy, Science; Ashleigh Hannah – Healthy & Wellbeing, Science; Ashley Horne – Health & Wellbeing; Chloe Huskisson – Health & Wellbeing; Ross Neil – Health & Wellbeing, Literacy, 
Numeracy, Saltrie, Work Experience Muiravonside Cafe; Gary Scott – Attendance, Healthy & Wellbeing, Numeracy, Saltire, Work Experience Muiravonside Cafe; Tony Stephen – John Muir, Health & Wellbeing, Numeracy.

Class 6W: Cameron Brown – John Muir; Bradley Houston – Learning Works; Lewis McPhail – Health & Wellbeing; Holly Moffat – Food Hygiene, Literacy, Saltire, Work Experience Muiravonside Cafe; Lyle Rettie – John Muir; Erin Swinton – Attendance, Saltire, Work Experience Muiravonside Cafe.

Seven pupils were recognised for special awards for their efforts:

House Pupil of the Year: Bruce House – Stephanie McKay and Adam Millar.

Wallace House – Ryan Don and Andrew McMillan.

Kennethy Buckley Award for Sporting Achievement – Matthew Mitchell.

Gary Logan Award for Someone who has Made a Difference – Lewis Kellett.

Jade Taylor Award for Inspiration, Determination and Courage – Sophie Anderson.