Falkirk Council top jobs agreed as Labour takes control

Pat Reid remains Provost of Falkirk
Pat Reid remains Provost of Falkirk

Labour took control of Falkirk Council today after striking a deal with two Conservatives and one Independent to form a coalition.

Following the local government elections two weeks ago which left Labour with 14 seats and rivals the SNP with 13, deals have been done to keep the previous administration in power for another five years.

In return for their backing, Conservative Group leader John Patrick has been appointed Depute Provost and colleague Malcolm Nicol vice-convener of the Civic Licensing Board, while Independent Billy Buchanan holds his position as convener of the planning committee.

In the meantime it has been confirmed Councillor Pat Reid will remain Falkirk’s First Citizen as Provost and the leader of the administration will be Councillor Craig Martin.

Conveners and vice-conveners will be:

* Economic strategy - Dennis Goldie and Linda Gow

* Education - Alan Nimmo and Pat Reid

* Environment - Craig R. Martin and Joan Paterson

* Housing - Gerry Goldie and Allyson Black

* Leisure - Adrian Mahoney and Joan Paterson

* Civic Licensing - Malcolm Nicol and Pat Reid

* Planning - Billy Buchanan and John McLuckie

* Policy and Resources - Craig Martin and Rosemary Murray

* Appeals - John McLuckie and Jim Blackwood

* Joint consultative committee - Charles MacDonald

In addition Labour has named Joan Paterson, Jim Blackwood and Alan Nimmo to represent Falkirk Council on the Joint Police Board and Dennis Goldie, Rosemary Murray and Alan Nimmo on the Joint Fire Board.

The council also agreed elected members will be paid a basic £16,234 a year, the leader of the council £32,470, committee conveners £21,803 and their deputies £18,280.

The SNP will confirm its nominations to the council’s eight key committees on Monday.