Deal agreed to control Falkirk Council

Labour gained the highest number of seats
Labour gained the highest number of seats

A Labour-led coalition will run Falkirk Council for the next five years.

The party’s 14 councillors have reached agreement with two Conservatives – John Patrick and Malcolm Nicol – along with Independent Billy Buchanan, to take control.

Following the election on May 3 no party had an overall majority but, after a week of behind-the-scenes negotiations, Labour has managed to strike a deal which will give it a majority of two over the SNP who have 13 councillors.

There are two further independent councillors, Robert Spears and Brian McCabe.

The first meeting of the new council is expected to be held on Friday, May 18.