New names unveiled for three Falkirk early years childcare centres

Councillors have agreed to new names for three new early years childcare centres (ELCC) across the Falkirk area.

By Kirsty Paterson, Local Democracy Reporting Service
Wednesday, 27th January 2021, 4:30 pm
The early learning centres have new names
The early learning centres have new names

The new centre at Moray Primary and Oxgangs is to be called Abbotsgrange ELCC, which has a target completion date of Easter this year.

Maddiston Primary's new ELCC will be named Glendevon, which has a target opening date of summer this year.

St Margaret Primary's new centre will be known as Parkhill ELCC.

It's new modular units are expected to be up and running by the end of February.

The names were agreed by Falkirk Council's education, children and young person committee after consultation with parents.

There committee heard there are now 15 projects that still need major building work, plus six that need only minor work.

Some projects will not be completed by August but arrangements will be made for all eligible pupils to get 1140 hours of nursery education from that date on.

Thank you for reading this article on our free-to-read website. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

Please consider purchasing a subscription to our print newspaper to help fund our trusted, fact-checked journalism.