A 'write' good response to Falkirk Rotary's literary competition

The Rotary Club of Falkirk its Young Writers competition had a dramatic increase in entries from a number of different schools in the area.

Tuesday, 30th March 2021, 11:27 am

A Bill Laurie, of Falkirk Rotary, said: “We are delighted to report the entry to the 2020-21 competition increased dramatically to ninety entries – up from seventeen in 2018-19 and twelve in 2019-20.

“Three schools submitted entries on the subject of ‘My Happiest Day’ with 71 stories coming from Denny High School, 18 from Wallacestone Primary School and one from Braes High School.

“There were three categories in the competition – junior (7 to 10 years) with seven entries, intermediate (11 to 13) which had 49 entries and senior (14 to 17) which attracted 10 entries.

Wallacestone Primary School pupils Alice Ohlstenhius, Holly Curtis and Matthew Savage receive their prizes for this year's Falkirk Rotary Club young writers competition

“The entries were considered by a panel of judges from Falkirk Writers’ Circle chaired by Isobel Quinn, chairperson of the Writers’ Circle.”

The junior prize winners, all from Wallacestone Primary, were 1st Alice Ohlstenhuis, 2nd Holly Curtis and 3rd Matthew Savage, while topping the intermediate category were 1st Alyssa Workman (Denny High), 2nd Kacy-Leigh Drummond (Denny High), 3rd Sophie Duncan (Braes High) and highly commended Holly Torley (Denny High).

In the senior competition the winners, all from Denny High School, were 1st Abbie Miller, 2nd Bradley Benton, 3rd Hannah Whitelaw and highly commended Emma Harvey.

The Rotary Club awarded cheques ranging from £50 to £20 to the prizewinners, while all entrants received a certificate of participation.

First placed senior Abbie Miller’s winning entry will now be sent Rotary International Great Britain and Ireland for consideration in the national finals of the writing competition.

Mr Laurie said: “Thanks go to Michelle Connor and her colleagues at Denny HS, Martin McGlynn at Wallacestone PS and Garry McIntosh of Braes HS for encouraging their pupils to enter the competition and many thanks to all the young people who submitted their work.

“We also thank Isobel Quinn and her colleagues in the Writers’ Circle for rising to the task of judging the ninety entries. The judges have also provided some valuable feedback on the entries which has been sent to the members of staff involved.”