Falkirk Council Local Election - the results

Waiting for Video...

SNP 13 Labour 14 Conservative 2 Independent 3

It’s no change at Falkirk Council.

The results of the local election mean Labour again has 14 representatives, the SNP 13, Conservatives two with three independents making up the 32 seats.

Although Labour and SNP hold the majority of seats neither has enough to take overall control.

The next few days are likely to see lots of behind-the-scenes meetings as the big two try to come to an agreement with the Tories and independents to give them power.

The Nationalists lost two stalwarts with Georgie Thomson failing to woo enough voters in Falkirk South, although SNP newcomer Craig Chalmers was elected, Lynda Kenna saw her 17 year tenure as a councillor come to an end when she failed to win a seat in the Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst Ward.

Labour newcomers Joan Paterson in Grangemouth and Rosie Murray in Upper Braes were both elected, while party veteran Dennis Goldie will once again serve alongside twin brother Gerry in Falkirk South.

David Balfour is the SNP’s new man in Grangemouth, while Stephen Bird is the party’s newcomer in Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst.

Independent Brian McCabe was elected in Denny and Banknock.

Full results are:

Bo’ness and Blackness – Adrian Mahoney (Lab), Ann Ritchie (SNP) and Sandy Turner (SNP).

Grangemouth – David Balfour (SNP), Allyson Black (Lab), Joan Paterson (Lab) and Robert Spears (Ind).

Denny and Bancknock – Jim Blackwood (Lab), Brian McCabe (Ind), John McNally (SNP) and Martin Oliver (SNP).

Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst – Stephen Bird (SNP), Steven Carleschi (SNP), Charles MacDonald (Lab) and Craig Martin (Lab).

Bonnybridge and Larbert – Billy Buchanan (Ind), Tom Coleman (SNP) and Linda Gow (Lab).

Falkirk North – David Alexander (SNP), Craig R.Martin (Lab), Cecil Meiklejohn (SNP) and Pat Reid (Lab).

Falkirk Sourth – Craig Chalmer (SNP), Dennis Goldie (Lab), Gerry Goldie (Lab) and John Patrick (Con).

Lower Braes – Steven Jackson (SNP), Malcolm Nicol (Con) and Alan Nimmo (Lab).

Upper Braes – Gordon Hughes (SNP), John McLuckie (Lab) and Rosie Murray (Lab).

For full analysis, see Thursday’s Falkirk Herald.




Back to the top of the page